Graphic Design Department

Identity area

Type of entity


Authorized form of name

Graphic Design Department

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



The Graphic Design department officially became a department in May 1986 (then called Graphics and Packaging Design, which soon changed to Graphic and Packaging Design in the late 1980s). Prior to 1986, graphic and packaging courses fell under the Advertising Department (1930s - early 1970s), and then the Communications Design Department, which included Advertising and Graphics/Packaging (early 1970s - 1986). The name of the department changed circa 1996 from Graphic and Packaging Design to Graphic Design.

List of Chairs (beginning in 1986):
Paul Hauge (1986-1988)
James Miho (1988-1996)
Gregory Thomas (acting chair, 1996-circa 2000)
Linda Norlen (acting chair?)
Ramone Munoz (acting chair, circa 2000-circa 2002)
Allison Goodman (acting chair, circa 2002-2004)
Nikolaus Hafermaas (2004 - )


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places