Transportation Design Department

Identity area

Type of entity


Authorized form of name

Transportation Design Department

Parallel form(s) of name

    Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

      Other form(s) of name

        Identifiers for corporate bodies

        Description area

        Dates of existence



        Originally a part of the Industrial Design Department, the Transportation Design Department was established in 1991.
        The Transportation Design Department, along with its corporate sponsors, provides students the opportunity to design automobiles, motorcycles, marine and aircraft, commercial transport, personal mobility and public transit.

        List of department chairs:
        George Jergenson, 1947-1969 (Chair of ID)
        Keith Teter, 1969-1985 (Chair of ID)
        Ronald C. Hill, 1987-2000 (Chair of ID, then Chair of TRAN in 1991)
        Ken Okuyama, 2001-2004
        Geoffrey Wardle, 2004-2005, Acting Chair (Associate Chair)
        Stewart Reed, February 2005 - present


        Legal status

        Functions, occupations and activities

        Mandates/sources of authority

        Internal structures/genealogy

        General context

        Relationships area

        Access points area

        Subject access points

        Place access points


        Control area

        Authority record identifier

        Institution identifier

        Art Center College of Design

        Rules and/or conventions used


        Level of detail

        Dates of creation, revision and deletion




            Maintenance notes